Parents, you can’t live with em (after a certain age) and you can’t live without em.

1063698_10201446699717565_77874235_o295379_10201126999645904_866926695_n

Do you ever look in the mirror and stand there for a while and really just take a good look at yourself and think “Who am I really?”. If you don’t, try it sometime, it’ll really get you thinking about the person you are and the person you truly want to be. I do this all the time and that’s probably the reason why I’m constantly over thinking every choice having to do with my future.  When I’m standing there as I’d assume some dramatic song is playing in the background…May it be Boston by Augustana? Or maybe Keep Breathing by Ingrid Michalson? I think to myself how incredible it is that I’m a living  breathing person with eyes just like my mom, and a rather large nose I got from my dad, and a mildly weird personality to top it all off.  Well kids, when it comes down to it, everything I just listed is all because of your parents and how they raised you, rather you like to think so or not.

Let me introduce you to my incredible parents, formally known as Renata and Scott. I really don’t know what I did to be blessed with such beautiful human beans (inside and out)  that have worked as a team to make everything in mine and my brothers life possible and made us the people we are today. Now I’m not speaking from any personal experience from being a mother because, well, I don’t have a kid. Observing my own parents, I’ve realized the the word team means so much more in a marriage then anyone will ever realize. If you don’t work as a team in your marriage and make things 50/50 from the beginning, things may start to become more difficult for one person then the other. Which then causes stress, which then moves on to arguments, leading to lack of love in a relationship. What would be the point of two people marrying each other if their love for one another wasn’t as strong as it was when he got down on one knee, and asked to spend the rest of his life with this person? There wouldn’t be a point in my opinion. If two people fall out of love with each other I don’t believe it was true love to begin with (coming from the single girl).  Jesus Christ when did I become such a romantic? I blame Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks.

Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks also didn’t have to go through the stresses of properly raising a child in “You’ve Got Mail” and “Sleepless In Seattle” all they had to concentrate on was how to get to each other. How you act, the choices you make, how you treat others was all taught by your parents.  Luckily enough I was blessed with two fantastic parents that have raised me so well and have taught me right from wrong and how to treat others the way you want to be treated. Throughout my four years at Bradford High School I really started to gain some clarity on why people are who they are. If that makes any seance. I’ve realized many people have grown up in homes with parents that never taught them these things that seem to be common knowledge to most of us. I remember having a boy in one of my classes junior year stand up, throw his papers on the floor and refuse to do any of his work as he was swearing at the teacher. I remember seeing how scared this teacher was and my heart just broke for him because he was just trying to help this kid out. At the time I thought this guy was just being a complete asshole just because he had nothing else better to do. Now, I realize it’s probably not his fault, why he is like he is. He obviously had to learn how to be like that and watch someone be so disrespectful to someone else and think that it’s okay.

I have to watch my words with this blog because I know many people my age that have a kid now and I know that are going to be absolutely great parents,because they themselves are great people. There’s just a large ratio of children out there that don’t have great parents, and I feel so awful for them. I’ve watched people abuse their children in public, swear to them, and even completely ignore them. Then people wonder why are jails are hitting maximum capacity. I mean think about it, if someone did that to you on a day to day basis I don’t know about you, but I’d raise hell. So in actuality you can’t blame these kids for holding so much anger and not knowing how to properly handle it, because they haven’t been properly handled with.

For all of you who do have great parents out there, take a minute out of your busy college schedule of homework, naps and trying to decide what your going to drink that night and call up your mom or dad and thank them for everything they have ever done for you. Believe it or not, time is flying by and one day your going to hope to get that same phone call.

Signed a girl hoping to be a mother just as great as her own….one day……a long, long time from now….long people…years.

383318_2773398542279_1731643291_n

Leave a comment