Kelly Raduechel: My Other Half, My Future Maid of Honor, My Best Friend.

02-10-11(20-29)(2005-8-11)487119_4268390799210_100689165_n1F02-10-11(20-16)(2005-8-11)

The year of 1993, was the start of many great things. One magnificent thing to be specific about, would have to be the start of my life long friend ship with my best friend Kelly Raduechel. To this day I still have no idea how to spell her last name. In fact I just had to go on her Facebook page to figure it out. Embarrassed? Not at all. Ashamed? I probably should be, but everyone know’s I can’t spell for shit. First of all, were both born on this date; so when I say life long friendship, I seriously mean life long. My mom used to tell me she remembers bringing me in (in my little baby carrier thing) when having to drop my brother off at Kid’s Castle and setting me down right next to Kelly and we would immediately start smiling at each other (It’s creepy, I can picture it). Kelly’s mom Cheryl (probably spelled her name wrong as well) would also be dropping off Jenny (Kelly’s older sister) at the same school. Needless to say my mom and Kelly’s mom were obviously friends, they weren’t just some random strangers setting their babies down next to each other and walking away in hopes their daughters would become friends.

As a couple of years passed, we went to Kid’s Castle with each other and started the adventure we now like to call our friendship. We were as cool as we are now, making up hand shakes, tripping over nothing, and her constantly trying to hold my hand. Yeah, were real cool. After we had graduated from Kid’s Castle with a diploma in one hand and an ice cream cone in the other, the unthinkable happened. We had went our separate ways and attended different schools. I had went to Holy Rosary and she had went to Somers Elementary School. After living through four years of hell on earth at Holy Rosary, my mom had did the best thing she could of ever done for me. She took me out of Holy Rosary and sent me to Somers Elementary. Little did I know at the time, I would be reunited with my best friend. This was around the time I would be starting forth grade. At the time, I didn’t know anyone at Somers. So I was on my own for trying to make friends. Well, let me tell you, I know how to pick um! I had befriended this crazy little demon who later on had stolen my favorite sweater, and constantly denied it, when in fact my mom had wrote my name on the inside tag. Let’s just say I got my sweater back, after gym class one day. Four words: Survival of the fittest.  Anyway’s, after that little incident, I was obviously lacking friends. I’m sure I was chilling alone some where on the play ground when Miss Kelly Raduechel had probably saw me sitting alone and had came up to me and asked if I wanted to be friends. Not having any at the time, I was siked! From there on out, we had then realized who each other were and picked up where we had left off at Kid’s Castle.

We have gone through many stages of life together. Including: Pre-school, Elementary, Middle School, High School, and now College (with the help of technology) . Through out these years of growing up, we have both grown into wonderful people with the help of each other. We have gone through terrible things people should never have to go through, but those things have changed us for the better. I’ve learned a lot from Kelly. I’ve learned that it’s okay to cry, and you don’t always have to be the strong person that doesn’t cry in your group of friends. Needless to say, that has changed. I cry at the sight of The Cheese Cake Factory now.  I also feel like I’ve learned to love more, not that I didn’t love before, but this girl seriously loves everyone. People could hurt her physically or mentally and I can promise you she would still love them. So yes, she has taught me to love more and love everyone and everything no matter what they have done to me. I feel as a whole we have learned so much about the world in general, but were both still so lost.  It’s funny, were both so lost in the world but anytime were lost we always know one thing is for certain. We have our friendship, and that will bring us back to whatever path were trying to find at the moment.

I’ve had many people look at pictures of Kelly and I and say “Wow, you two could be sisters!”. Here’s the thing, we may not be blood related sisters, but I feel like I’m closer with her then if I were to ever have a sister in my life. Not only do we look like each other but we tend to act like other. Only with certain things. For example: We worry way to much, we over think everything we ever do and will do, we constantly think were dying of some sort of sickness or disease may it be breast/colon cancer, we tend to panic about things having to do with the future, we panic general, we care for people more then they care for us, were both very indecisive, were both very happy people even when we feel our saddest,  we feel as though it’s an Ingrid Michaelson day every day, and you don’t want to talk to either of us before we have our cup of coffee in the morning.  Now I’m not saying were alike in every which way because we aren’t, and that’s what makes our friendship so special. Just like any other close friendships we’ve had our ups and downs, but we have recovered from everyone of our “downs” and I’m so thankful for that.

I really can’t thank the lord enough for bringing us together, because without her in my life I’d feel as though there would be an empty hole inside me. I know every time we start to plan our weddings with the boyfriends we don’t have, I can count on her being right by my side. Either when I’m saying “I do” or when I’m on the couch eating a piece of cheesecake and quoting You’ve Got Mail and realizing WOW I’M STILL SINGLE. This past year, I’ve really realized some people don’t know what a true friendship is all about. They think its just talking to each other, maybe going out to lunch once or twice, having a few in dept life talks and then BOOM all of a sudden your friends and you think you know everything about that person. When in reality you don’t know the first thing about that person.  A TRUE friendship consist of:  trust, arguments, caring, loving, disagreements, forgiveness, helpfulness which could all take years to gain. That my friends, is a true friendship.

To any future person that ever hurt’s this girl in anyway or breaks her heart, I will personally come find you and kick the living shit out of you. Yes, I am that psycho best friend. I tend to freak out about the future more then often, but then I always remind myself, no matter how scary the world can be sometimes, I will always have my best friend Kelly by my side.

Of course I would be tearing up while writing this, you can thank Kel and my Meisner teacher for that one.

One more thing then i’ll shut up…Appreciate everything and everyone you have in your life and tell them you love them every day, because life can be so unpredictable times.

Signed, a girl that couldn’t ask for a better best friend.

Leave a comment